The Society

The Schleiermacher Society was established on September 19, 1996 with the goal of promoting academic and interdisciplinary engagement with the work of Friedrich Daniel Ernst Schleiermacher at an international level. Halle (Saale), where Schleiermacher studied and later began his career as an academic teacher, was chosen as the home of the society.

Schleiermacher’s theoretical grasp of, and practical influence on, the relationship between religion and culture under the conditions of modernity was so unrivaled that one might say his life virtually marks the beginning of a new epoch of Protestantism. For this reason, the analysis and interpretation of his publications and of the history of their effects points far beyond the boundaries of theology. The society has therefore set itself the task of putting interdisciplinary and international collaboration at the forefront of its work. This goal is to be achieved primarily through regular conferences and annual symposia.

The founding Board of Directors, which governed the work of the Society for more than 15 years, was comprised of the following scholars: Prof. Dr. Ulrich Barth (President); Prof. Dr. Theodor Jørgenson respectively Prof. Dr. Richard Crouter and subsequently Prof. Dr. Brent Sockness (each as Vice-President); Prof. Dr. Wilhelm Gräb (Treasurer), and Prof. Dr. Günter Meckenstock and subsequently Prof. Dr. Ursula Frost (Secretary).

In March 2012 a new committee was elected. Prof. Dr. Jorg Dierken (Halle) currently serves as President of the Society. Prof. Dr. Brent Sockness (Stanford, CA/USA) continues in his role as Vice-President. Prof. Dr. Arnulf von Scheliha was voted in as Treasurer, and Dr. Sarah Schmidt (Berlin) has assumed the position of Secretary.

Prof. Dr. Jörg Dierken (President)

Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg
Theologische Fakultät
Franckeplatz 1, Haus 26
06110 Halle (Saale), Germany
Tel: +49 (0) 345 5523017

Prof. Dr. Christine Helmer (Vice-President)

Department of Religious Studies
Northwestern University
Crowe Hall, 5-179
1860 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208-2164


Prof. Dr. Arnulf von Scheliha (Treasurer)

Westfälische Wilhelms Universität
Evangelisch-Theologische Fakultät
Institut für Ethik und angrenzende Sozialwissenschaften
Universitätsstraße 13-17
48143 Münster, Germany

Dr. Sarah Schmidt (Secretary)

Berlin Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften
Jägerstraße 22/23
10117 Berlin, Germany

Those interested in a membership in the society are kindly encouraged to contact the President of the society.